About this blog

This is a blog about my thoughts and experiences as the father of an autistic child. I guess the reason for writing and publishing this stuff on the interweb is that I feel a duty to try and explain a bit about autism and how it affects the people that have it and their families. I do not want this to be a moan fest about how hard our lives are and how terrible autism is, although inevitably some of the difficulties we encounter will be talked about. Rather I would like to focus on how others can help autistic people they may encounter. Understanding more about the condition is absolutely vital to helping autistic people like my son. There is still much ignorance about the condition If other people like what I write then that’s wonderful but getting a big number of views and followers isn’t really what this is about .

About our family

Me and my wife have two children. I will refer to our kids by their nick names to preserve some anonymity. Our eldest “Bean” was diagnosed with autism last summer he was 4 years old in Feb 2014 and our youngest “Zoo” is 20 months old at the time of posting.

About the nick names

Bean was called bean since the nurse at our first scan told us he was about the size of a bean. “Zoo” was called babyzoo as a nickname when he was born and the it got shortened to just Zoo.

4 thoughts on “About this blog

  1. Hey man. I really enjoyed reading some of your blog. My brother is autistic and while that’s different from raising an autistic son, it’s definitely affected me. I’ve always been over protective of my brother and I think of a lot of families with autistic close relatives do this. Anyway just thought that I’d say to keep it up because sometimes it feels like no one else would ever get it. Thanks man!

    • Glad you liked it. Its great you look out for your brother. I have two sons my youngest is neurotypical so he will probably need to look out for his older brother a bit as he grows up. It should be the other way round but that’s the deal life has dealt us.

      I really hope that this is not hard on him. I know it will be unfair on him sometimes but I guess I hope that having an older brother with special needs will help make him a more compassionate and understanding human being. Siblings have an important role to play in advocating for their brothers and sisters. Like becoming an autism parent it ain’t a role you asked for but one that was imposed. It can be tough at times but also incredibly rewarding I think. We all learn from life’s experiences and this is an experience that has taught me so much. I’m sure you feel the same.

  2. I’ve just been reading your article on what is it like to be a bean – very interesting because it is proving a very insightful grounding tool for me – i live with someone with mild autism – aspergers, without the high funtioning element. I tend to forget sometimes, or at least forget how none of how they view the world has at any stage changed or become more like an NTs way… i’ll bookmark this article and reread it when i need regrounding again, which comes round all too frequently. By the way, my friend’s nickname is Bean. Just for fun I was googling things about Beans – that is how i came across your article. Thank you so much for publishing it – it was just what i really needed to find though i didn’t realise it at the time i was looking. Your Bean’s art – that is really complex huh. I like it. There was more to it… a depth the average 4 year old could never comprehend… very interesting.

    • Thanks for the lovely feedback. Really glad you found the article useful. I was very pleased with what it is like to be a bean but now I;m a year or so on into my autism daddy journey I think a “what it is like to be an older bean” may be required as the way he sees the world has changed somewhat.

      If you have taken the time to read up on this then you are a good friend to your autistic house mate. Keep up the good work, autistic people even the “mildy” affected need people who understand them in their lives because most people don’t.

Leave a Reply

